Districting Commission


83 Broadway, Newburgh, New York 12550

Phone: (845) 569-7354

Fax: (845) 569-7370

For immediate release

February 27, 2013

Districting Commission Finalizes New

City of Newburgh Ward Boundaries

At their February 16, 2013 meeting, the Districting Commission made history by finalizing the map of the ward boundaries for the new ward system in the City of Newburgh. Chris Knasiak and Jason Nordlund co-chaired the Commission which also included Nora Cofresi, Arreda Cotten, Janet Gianopoulos, Thomas Murphy, and Rev. Steve Ruelke.

In 2011, voters approved charter amendments proposed by the 2010 Charter Review Commission providing for the creation of a ward system and a Districting Commission, and procedures for the selection and removal of the City Manager and Interim City Manager. In November 2013, voters will elect one council member from each ward.

Beginning in 2014, the City Council will consist of seven members, with two members and the Mayor elected at-large, and four members elected by ward.

A new Districting Commission will be selected every 10 years after the U.S. Census to evaluate existing wards and redistrict them as necessary so that they are in compliance with federal and state law.

"The ward system is not only a new look for the City of Newburgh," said former Mayor Nicholas Valentine, who convened the Charter Review Commissions of 2006 and 2010.

"It is a way to help insure equal representation, and that the people on the Council understand the concerns of the residents of their particular neighborhoods. I want to thank the Charter Review Commissions and the Districting Commission for their hard work, and the voters of the City of Newburgh for their overwhelming support of this historic change."

CITY PROPOSITION NO 1 and 2 Approved by the Voters Nov. 8, 2011